

For Immediate Release Media Contact: Rachel Brown <u>rbrown@steegethomson.com</u>; PH: 267-670-7011

American Neurological Association Announces 2018 Award Recipients

From lectureships to international scholarships, ANA recognizes excellence at multiple career levels

(MOUNT LAUREL, NJ, October 9, 2018) — The American Neurological Association (ANA), the professional organization representing the nation's top academic neurologists and neuroscientists, has announced the winners of its 2018 scientific awards, to be presented at the <u>ANA's 143rd Annual Meeting</u> in Atlanta, October 21-23, 2018. The accolades recognize leaders in academic neurology and neuroscience who have demonstrated research excellence in areas including traumatic brain injury, neurodegenerative disease, and neurogenetic disorders.

"We are proud to recognize talented academic neurologists at all career levels for outstanding accomplishments in research, education and patient care," said ANA President David Holtzman, MD, chair of Neurology at Washington University in St. Louis. "These awardees are an inspiration to all of us who are working on multiple fronts to advance the field."

Each year, the ANA Annual Meeting convenes more than 800 of the nation's top academic neurologists and neuroscientists to share updates and late-breaking research on the diseases that affect more than 100 million Americans each year including stroke, Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, traumatic brain and spinal cord injuries, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, and more. Of this distinguished group, the following will receive a 2018 ANA Award:

Lectureships

The Raymond D. Adams Lectureship honors Dr. Raymond D. Adams, emeritus Bullard Professor of Neuropathy at Harvard Medical School and emeritus Chief of Neurology Service at the Massachusetts General Hospital.

Awarded to: <u>David L. Brody, MD, PhD</u>, The Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences. *Presentation title:* Rehabilitation for Severe TBI: Evidence Based Approaches and Expert Opinion with Insights from Basic Sciences Including an Update on Delayed Neurodegeneration

The F.E. Bennett Memorial Lectureship, founded in 1979, recognizes outstanding neuroscientists.

Awarded to: <u>Beverly L. Davidson, PhD</u>, University of Pennsylvania Presentation title: Emerging Therapies for Neurogenetic Disorders

The Soriano Lectureship was established in 1987 by ANA member Dr. Victor Soriano and his wife to provide a "brilliant lecture delivered by an outstanding scientist" who is a member of the Association.

Awarded to: <u>Dimitri Krainc, MD, PhD</u>, Northwestern University Presentation title: The Interplay of Mitochondria and Lysosomes in Neurodegeneration

Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholars

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Awards are clinical awards given each year during the Annual Meeting to new members of the Association who have achieved significant stature in neurological research, and show promise for continuing to make major contributions to the field of neurology. These awardees will present their work during the Annual Meeting.

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award in Basic Science

Awarded to: <u>Peter K. Todd, MD, PhD</u>, University of Michigan Presentation title: How Repeats Break the Rules to Cause Neurodegeneration

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award in Basic Science

Awarded to: Lauren Sansing, MD, MS, Yale University Presentation Title: Inflammation and Resolution after Intracerebral Hemorrhage- Lessons from Mouse and Man

The Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Award in Clinical Science

Awarded to: <u>Alice Chen-Plotkin, MD</u>, University of Pennsylvania *Presentation title:* Big Screens and Where You Go from There: Towards Translation in the Neurodegenerative Diseases

Research Awards

The Grass Foundation-ANA Award in Neuroscience, established in 2007, honors outstanding young investigators conducting research in basic or clinical neuroscience.

Awarded to: <u>Michael Wilson, MD</u>, University of California, San Francisco *Presentation title:* Metagenomic Approaches Advance Our Understanding of Infectious Encephalitis

The Wolfe Neuropathy Research Prize was established in 2009 by Mr. Winston Wolfe and the ANA to honor outstanding investigators who identify a new cause or novel treatment of axonal peripheral neuropathy.

Awarded to: <u>Ahmet Hoke, MD, PhD</u>, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine *Presentation title:* Development of EQ-6 for Neuroprotection Against Chemotherapy-induced Peripheral Neuropathy

International Outreach Scholarship

In 2017, the ANA launched the International Outreach Scholarship program to enable young neurologists to pursue their interests in global neurology. This program funds two or more scholarships to facilitate scientists training in neurology to work in low to lower-middle income countries (as defined by the World Bank) for a minimum of six weeks in the upcoming academic year. This year's scholarship recipients are:

Allison Navis, MD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai *Location:* Lusaka, Zambia

Melissa Elafros, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins University *Location:* University of Zambia's University Teaching Hospital

Cleopatra Thurman, DO, Michigan State University *Location:* Lusaka, Zambia

About the American Neurological Association (ANA)

From advances in stroke and dementia to movement disorders and epilepsy, the American Neurological Association has been the vanguard of research since 1875 as the premier professional society of academic neurologists and neuroscientists devoted to understanding and treating diseases of the nervous system. Its monthly *Annals of Neurology* is among the world's most prestigious medical journals, and the ANA's open-access Annals of Clinical and Translational Neurology provides rapid online dissemination of high-quality, peer-reviewed research related to all areas of neurology. The acclaimed ANA Annual Meeting draws faculty and trainees from the top academic departments across the U.S. and abroad for groundbreaking research, networking, and career development. For more information, visit www.myana.org and @TheNewANA1.